hého designarchitecture sonore et design sonore

hého, a consulting firm in creation and realization
of sound architecture and sound design

FR EN

Dyskograf

The Dyskograf is an interactive installation by Jesse Lucas and Erwan Raguenes Yro.

Here are the comments from artists :

The dematerialization of media that resulted in disregard of the principles of recording and music playback, this art installation allows you to recover a delicate touch to recorded music, and in this way to deduce the operation.

Dyskograf is a graphical disk drive. Each disk is created on site by the visitors through a series of markers placed at their disposal. The device is then used to read the discs to translate the design into a musical sequence.

The art installation is primarily a tool which allows one to create musical sequences intuitively. The notion of loop closely related to electronic music is represented by the cycle of the disc. The disc scrolls indefinitely in front of a camera mounted on an arm. This diamond substitution converts the drawing into sound with a dedicated software. This system allows us to understand the musical sequence in a playful way, while creating a unique object, a memory of the musical composition.

The digital world is a world of binary choices. Dyskograf aims to give a place for accidents in the digital creation, often conducive to creativity.

Dyskograf from Jesse Lucas on Vimeo.

Hého DesignArchitecture et design sonores

hého est un cabinet de conseil, de création et de réalisation
en architecture sonore et design sonore

FR EN

Dyskograf

Le Dyskograf est une installation interactive réalisée par Jesse Lucas, Erwan Raguenes et Yro.

Voici les commentaires des artistes :

La dématérialisation des supports ayant entraîné une méconnaissance des principes de l’enregistrement et de la lecture musicale, cette installation permet de retrouver un contact sensible à la musique enregistrée, et par ce biais d’en déduire le fonctionnement.

Dyskograf est un lecteur de disques graphiques. Chaque disque est créé sur place par les visiteurs de l’installation grâce à une série de feutres mis à leur disposition. Le dispositif permet ensuite de lire les disques pour traduire le dessin en une séquence musicale.

L’installation est avant tout un outil qui permet de créer des séquences musicales de façon intuitive. La notion de boucle intimement liée aux musiques électroniques est ici représentée par le cycle du disque. Le disque défile indéfiniment devant une caméra fixée sur un bras. Ce diamant de substitution convertit le dessin en son grâce à un logiciel dédié. Ce système permet d’appréhender le séquençage musical de façon ludique tout en créant un objet unique, souvenir de la composition musicale.

Le monde numérique est un monde de choix binaires. Dyskograf a pour but de redonner une place aux accidents dans la création numérique, souvent propices à la créativité.

Dyskograf from Jesse Lucas on Vimeo.